Heartbeat and Political Responses

Heartbeat

By Jackson Mattek

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

I feel my heart

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Each ventricle has a story

Hardened by years of work

Of pain

Of the man

Don’t let heartbeat betray me

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Heart racing

Beats per minute off the charts

As he entered me

Without permission

Without consent

I said no

He left his seed

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

He said he wanted to be with me forever

I was in love

Growing in me a shared life

One part now gone

I’m left alone

One half

To raise a new heart into the world

Can I do it?

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Will I lose my scholarship?

Is that allowed?

He said he would pull out

He told me everything would be okay

He told me

He told me

He told me

He-

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Santa Maria

You know I am an honest woman

Righteous

Holy

Confused

What’s growing in me

What can I do

Is it too late?

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Daddy

What are you…

Yes Daddy

Anything you say sir

I love you

I had a baby doll named Annie.

I learned how to give her CPR

So if she choked

I could re-star heart heart

She stares at me in shame from the bottom of an old toy box.

Thump Thump, Thump Thump

Don’t betray our heartbeats

What are lawmakers and the court saying morally, logically and constitutionally about the validity of the bill?

“In addition to substituting politics for a woman’s right to make healthcare decisions – with trained medical professionals – that impact her health and family, this bill … goes against the oath we took as legislators the moment we were sworn into office,” – Christie Bryant Kuhns, Ohio State House, Democrat-Northside.

“In addition to substituting politics for a woman’s right to make healthcare decisions – with trained medical professionals – that impact her health and family, this bill … goes against the oath we took as legislators the moment we were sworn into office,” – Christie Bryant Kuhns, Ohio State House, Democrat-Northside.

“Conceptually I’m for the concepts behind the heartbeat bill — I always have been — but I just don’t think it’s the right political or legal strategy,I think there is danger of unsettling or frankly harming babies with the bill because of the consequences of that being overturned.” President of Ohio Senate, Keith Faber.

Similiar laws have passed and been proven unconstititutional in other states.

“The centuries-old standard to show life is a heartbeat,” North Dakota Lawyer Daniel Gaustad posed in arguments with U.S courts.

“Has the Supreme Court ever used or mentioned the term ‘heartbeat’ as a standard?” –U.S. Circuit Judge Duane Benton

Viability is the main argument at present when i comes to fetal hearbeat detection and abortion. Vial

“Viability seems to be a scientific or medical decision, not one for judges to decide.”-U.S. Circuit Court Justice Bobby E. Shepherd 

Bibliography:

Bloomberg. “North Dakota, Arkansas Challenge Roe in Federal Court.”Maryland Daily Record. The Daily Record, 13 Jan. 2015. Web. 22 Apr. 2015.Thompson, Chrissie. “How Anti-abortion ‘Heartbeat Bill’ Passed Ohio House.” Cincinnati.com. Cincinnati Enquirer, n.d. Web. 22 Apr. 2015.

Thompson, Chrissie. “How Anti-abortion ‘Heartbeat Bill’ Passed Ohio House.” Cincinnati.com. Cincinnati Enquirer, n.d. Web. 22 Apr. 2015.

Heartbeat and Political Responses

Leave a Reply

